Benin, a narrow, north-south strip of land in west Africa, lies between the Equator and the Tropic of Cancer. Benin lies between latitudes and 13°N, and longitudes and 4°E. Benin is bounded by Togo to the west, Burkina Faso and Niger to the north, Nigeria to the east, and the Bight of Benin to the south.

With an area of 112,622 km2 (43,484 sq mi), Benin extends from the Niger River in the north to the Atlantic Ocean in the south, a distance of 650 km (404 mi). Although the coastline measures 121 km (75 mi) the country measures about 325 km (202 mi) at its widest point.



Capital Porto-Novo1
6°28′N 2°36′E
Largest city Cotonou
Official language(s) French
Vernacular Fon, Yoruba
Ethnic groups (2002) Fon 39.2%
Adja 15.2%
Yoruba 12.3%
Bariba 9.2%
Peulh 7%
Ottamari 6.1%
Yoa-Lokpa 4%
Dendi 2.5%
other 1.6%
unspecified 2.9%
Demonym Beninese; Beninois
Government Multiparty democracy
 – President Yayi Boni
 – Prime Minister Pascal Koupaki
Legislature National Assembly
 – from France August 1, 1960
 – Total 112,622 km2 (101st)
43,484 sq mi
 – Water (%) 0.02%
 – 2012 estimate 9,598,787[1] (89th)
 – 2002 census 8,500,500
 – Density 78.1/km2 (120th)
202.2/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
 – Total $14.683 billion[2]
 – Per capita $1,481[2]
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
 – Total $7.306 billion[2]
 – Per capita $736[2]
Gini (2003) 36.5[3] (medium)
HDI (2011) decrease 0.427 (low) (167th)
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
 – Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
ISO 3166 code BJ
Internet TLD .bj
Calling code 229



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s